Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer


Builders Association of Minnesota honors two Minnesota lawmakers with top legislative awards. Senator Dave Senjem (R – Rochester) and Rep. Jason Rarick (R- Pine City) named Champions of the Industry.

By Forrest Cyr December 14, 2016

Saint Paul, MN – State Senator Dave Senjem (R – Rochester) and State Representative Jason Rarick (R – Pine City) were each presented with the prestigious “Champion of the Industry” award by the Builders Association of Minnesota for their strong legislative leadership on housing issues facing Minnesota.

The Champion of the Industry award is presented to members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and the Minnesota Senate who demonstrate a commitment to the advancement of the homebuilding profession, the promise of affordable housing, and the encouragement of young people to enter meaningful careers in the construction and building fields.

Rep. Rarick carried legislation in the 2016 session that allocated $4 million over two years to encourage high school aged youth to pursue careers in the construction trades and the building industry, which garnered wide support from various trade associations and groups in Minnesota. In the Senate, Sen. Senjem worked to enact legislation to prohibit the requirement that fire sprinklers be included in certain new structures, an ongoing issue for builders at the State Legislature.

“Senator Senjem and Representative Rarick are strong advocates for housing in Minnesota. Both have demonstrated a commitment to addressing the housing and building workforce needs facing communities around the state,” said Remi Stone, Executive Vice President of the Builders Association of Minnesota.

Rep. Rarick and Sen. Senjem join the ranks of previous Champions of the Industry, including Rep. Marion O’Neil (R-Maple Lake), Rep. Tama Theis (R-Saint Cloud), Sen. (DFL – Austin) Dan Sparks, and retired Sen. LeRoy Stumpf (DFL-Plummer).